I had a recent game where unit X charged unit A. X won the combat which resulted in A breaking and being removed. X now wished to advance into contact with B. X can clearly draw a line of sight from its front to the flank of B (it can't draw a line of sight to B's front, they are just to close), However X is (at least technically) in B's front.
Where does X charge? Does it 'shuffle' across and engage B's front, or would it do what looks obvious, and charge into the flank - remember B has no reaction options other than Stand (p50).
Cheers for the question Ben, interestingly this came up in a game I had recently with Paul Welsh and we went with rules as written A moved across to B, but it left me thinking that we fudged it a bit although we did follow RAW. I think I will have a word with Quinton and see what he thinks on the situation.
Fortunately for us it occured during our last turn, so it wasn't an issue. I only realised it post match when going thru a few what ifs. I would be inclined to play it as RAW unless for some reason the attacking unit is to close to draw a line of sight to the enemies front, as was this case. I would not count corner to corner as a front line of sight, unless corner to corner was being used to draw the unit into the !st combat, in which case the melee would really be an ongoing one, not a new one, and allowing a new charge (and into the flank at that) isn't what it taking place.
Fudge is good . I think in our game we went with what we thought was most logical, in the example you've given with only the flank being available because of proximaty I wouldn't object if you did it to me (I might cry whilst being pasted, but I wouldn't object).
Yes I think the key is that in this case its physically impossible to see the targets front, so 'in real life' you wouldn't attack it. Whereas in another case if the reason was because the line of sight was blocked, by terrain say, then I would still apply RAW, which means the attack wouldn't go in.
Ade is better with words than me lol and I am sure he will clarify further as we have discussed this and it will be in the errata.
Basically a winning unit has all the options as listed by bullet point, the last of which is advance. In this paragraph it says "made visible" by the defeated unit retiring and the new target of the advance has all the normal options if charged.
The paragraph below the bullet pointed advance winner option, is to say that should the unit be broken and removed rather than retired the new target of the advance option can only stand.
Therefore to be contacted at all the new unit must be made visible by the first target unit retiring or being removed.
From the diagram above it looks like X could have charged A or B or both at the point the charge was declared so B would not be "made visible" by A being destroyed. If B was behind A no problem made visible hit the front B can only stand.