been having a discussion on Facebook with a new player about whether British infantry should count as " D" for skirmishing, on the basis that their light companies were brigaded together as light battalions. It seems a bit drastic to me, and not really reflecting the capability of British infantry, but I can see his argument. Any thoughts?
Post by ducdelimbourg on Nov 15, 2017 10:20:15 GMT
Hello, I'm the new player David is referring to although on Facebook is my real name. My question/remark was, that the British army in the Peninsular and Waterloo campaigns organised their light companies in seperate light battalions; so in fact combined the light companies of a brigade into a new/seperate battalion probably within the brigade structure . The orders of Wellington are known and imho vey clear. There is also other evidence that this took place. Imho this means, that each battalion didn't have skirmish quality anymore so the skirmish designation should drop to zero or D level but the brigade gains of course an extra light battalion. When rereading the rules (as said I'm a newcommer), on page 62 this combining of elite companies is very clear written: when light companies are combined, the original battalion drops it skirmish qulity one grade (so from B to C or even from C to D) plus its fatigue level drops 1 level (eg from 7 to 6). On the Facebook site David and Adrian McWalter don't agree with me; Adrian even suggest a supplement. What is your opinion or how do you play this combining of light companies?
My quick answer is to play it as you have found it on p62. if you start introducing exceptions based on facebook conversations your opponent is going to either cry foul, or start wanting to do the same and your games risk falling into chaos. Also there is no obligation to keep things 'historical'. The light companies can stay with their battalion if you wish. When Stand To Games releases Supplements that you choose to use, then follow whats in that.
Post by ducdelimbourg on Nov 18, 2017 20:40:30 GMT
Darkelf, thanks for the reply. In our first test game we used the British with their companies per battalion although we still are the opinion that the rules on page 62 are also written for the British combining their light companies as ordered by Wellington. Will try that in our second test game. Hopefully Adrian (one of the co-authors of OtH) wil have reacted here or on the facebook page.
Post by ducdelimbourg on Nov 20, 2017 21:39:40 GMT
Adrian, you answered but I didn't totally understand; will repeat the last part of the discussian here:
Adrian: Hi Jan I am building an Anglo Portuguese force at the moment and I would follow David's advice, although the lights were taken from the units they were assigned at brigade level to cover the brigade which to me makes a more effective use of them. As you do not have to put the figures on the table it would mean an effective B status #
Jan: So, when battalions each deduct a company of lights and gain a light battalion on brigade level instead, you don't lower the battalions skirmisher grading and its fatigue level? I suppose that same is used when you detach grenadiers to a seperate grenadier battalion in the brigade? The rule wording is imho different to your proposal.
Adrian: No the wording you have is correct , that is a very generic rule , I am just talking about a particular tactical doctrine that would probably be covered in a supplement
jan: Adrian, I don't really understand what you mean. Is the proposal for British that you don't make a seperate light battalion and just use the calculation of the battalion as is (so it stays a B or C according to year)?
Ha ok now I see, I missed your final question. For now I would follow the rules given but we are working on a supplement at the moment in conjuction with the fantastic Mr JJ which is set in the peninsular and we will be reshaping a few army specific rules