1. Does the +2 for moving to combat for French in assault column and the +1 for the fatigue test when rolling to move into combat both apply to counter charges as well?
And am I right in reading that Opportunity Fire can only happen if a unit is moving out of range or into combat on their movement phase? Two instances: 2. For instance, if an enemy unit moves through enfilade as a result of a forced retreat in combat then there would be no opportunity fire? 3. And what if on their movement phase they move through enfilade but don't move out of range or into combat and at the end of their turn are no longer in enfilade? I think the RAW would say no enfilade, but I'm not sure that is the spirit of the rule.
I also had a few questions around routing units: 4. The rules say that routing units engaged in CC must evade. Am I right in assuming that that only applies to those unit types that CAN evade? Or do routing units get to join that club? 5. What formation do routing units assume? I had thought perhaps the formation they are in when they begin to rout, but a routing square didn't seem likely, especially with the first two compulsory 6" move segments.
6. And finally more an observation than a question, but is the BUA firing arc (4" wider total than the BUA side) problematic in that it leaves a dead zone starting about 2" out from the corner? I realized that a battery, wishing to pound a BUA into submission, could sit off on the corner and be immune to fire from the BUA.
As you can see, moving into some of the optional rules. I know no ruleset can easily foresee all situations and thank you for any clarifications!